10 Most Corrupt Leaders in Recent History

Joseph Estrada


Joseph “Erap” Ejercito Estrada (born 1937) was the 13th President of the Philippines from 1998 to 2001. He is the only Filipino president to have resigned from office. Before joining politics, he was a popular and film actor who played a lead role in 100 films and won awards for his performances. He looted around US$ 78 million to 80 million in forged funds. But in 2007, he was granted an unconditional pardon by President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo. He ran for elections in 2010 but lost to the current Filipino Benigno Aquino III.